Why is ¡Rob! still on the air?

When I first saw the CBS promos for their new series Rob, my immediate reaction was, “terrible…terrible…”  It looked so bad that I felt I could already predict its future.  Like last season’s ill-fated The Paul Reiser Show I figured the future was two episodes and an apology.  But Reiser’s show (according to the few who watched it) was merely boring and unfunny.  This show looked like a crap sandwich.

So I decided to test it. I decided to watch the first episode.  I figured that if I didn’t see that one, the odds were slim that I would get to watch another.

So I sat down to watch and my suspicions were confirmed, Rob Schneider plays ¡Rob!  An obsessive compulsive in his late 40’s who manages to woo and marry Maggie, an extremely hot model quality chick in her 20’s in just a few short weeks.  Do ruffies last that long?  Forgetting the rest of the show premise for a second, but I just could not buy into this.  And it’s nothing against Rob Schneider.  I don’t have any animus against him.  He’s acted and starred in many successful movies and isn’t an ugly man, but I just wouldn’t believe that someone who looks like him…

…could meet and marry someone who looks like her.

Sorry, I cannot, CAN NOT suspend my disbelief over this.

Television sitcommery has a long history of pairing fat or regular looking guys with super hot wives.  I mean, did anyone really believe these two could be married in real life?

But this is very much a bridge too far.

Now on to the premise.  Maggie’s family is Mexican and the entire hook of the show is Rob’s culture clash with his Mexican in-laws.  Only the most base, narrow, stereotypes are permitted.  Tacos, illegal immigration, guacamole; if it’s simple and stupid, its part of the show.  This show makes Chico and the Man sophisticated.  Come to think of it, Chico and the Man was sophisticated, at least in comparison with its 21st Century equivalent.

I actually had to force myself to finish the pilot episode of the show.  There was some snow on a non broadcasting channel that was mighty tempting, but I had made a commitment to see how bad this show is, and it’s bad.  But I figured that it would be cancelled soon, everyone involved would be fired, and it would be years before Rob Schneider would be able to get back on series television again.

But weeks went by, and I noticed that CBS was still showing promos for ¡Rob!  It’s not cancelled yet?  So I tuned in again and sure enough, the show is still on.  A quick Google search revealed why.  The ratings for this show are holding up.

I’ll be shocked if this show gets a second season, but I’ve been wrong before (“They’ll never cancel Firefly!”)  Then again, maybe, just maybe, the show will evolve into a watchable show.

And then be cancelled.

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 thoughts on “Why is ¡Rob! still on the air?

  1. Come on, Mike, cut the man a break. It took The Fonz how many seasons to finally jump a shark? Rob Schneider did it in one episode! That should be worth some respect.

    I think the ratings are due to a lead-in from THE BIG BANG THEORY, a vastly superior show. If ¡ROB! does get cancelled, it just means more room in the schedule for another dopey “reality” show. Cable networks (USA, FX, AMC etc.) seem to be the place to go for quality TV these days.

    Like

  2. So glad you are providing us with this important service to those of us who are oblivious to what is happening in the sitcom world…Is M*A*S*H still on?

    Like

  3. lol love the humor. I may have caught 5 minutes of this show, but that is all I could bare to watch. I guess you were glad to hear it was cancelled, no shock there. Good read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

