Quickie Fall Reviews: Selfie

selfieSelfie:  This ABC show is normally one that it would never occur to me to watch.  But it showed up On Demand from my cable service so I thought why not?  As for the “why” in this case…Karen Gillan.  I figured she would be worth watching if nothing else.  As it turns out, as a comedy this show is terrible, but watching the pilot, it had a few surprises.

First, I’m not sure Karen Gillan can really do an American accent.  It sounds as if she is going over her lines with a dialect coach, taping, then on to the next few lines to practice her Americanese; at least when she’s understandable.  Unfortunately her character speaks in such an argot of social media nonsense that she’s probably mostly unintelligible to all but teenagers.  But an American accent is wasted on her.  Why take a beautiful Scottish actress and force her to talk like an American teenager?  In other words, this is not the role for her.

Second, I was about 12 minutes into the pilot when suddenly it hit me, her character, Eliza Dooley…dang it, this was a retelling of My Fair Lady!  Like the most interesting man in the world, I don’t often recommend a musical, but when I do, it’s My Fair Lady.

So knowing that much, you can probably guess what the show is about.  Self centered Social Media maven goes to the top marketing guy in her company to try change her image and herself into a normal human being.  Antics ensue and you can guess where this will be going for Eliza and Henry, the marketing guru.  The question is, will I watch this?  I don’t know but it’s got two things going for it:  Pond (Karen Gillan of course) and My Fair Lady. But whether I watch it or not, it’s a safe bet that the rest of America won’t.  Already on the list as one of the worst new shows, it’s unlikely this show will get past one season, which is really all for the best.  Karen Gillan deserves better than this and the sooner this goes away the sooner she can get better than this.

Leave a Reply

